Education at UWA

Academic Quality and Standards Committee


Executive Officers:

Mr Wing Chung, Manager (Compliance, Policy and Quality Assurance)  

Ms Janice Moffatt, Senior Project Officer


Further Information

The University has established comprehensive principles, rules and guides for staff involved in committees.


Induction information



The Academic Quality and Standards Committee (AQSC) is a standing committee of the Academic Board/Academic Council. Its primary purpose is to oversee and monitor the University's academic quality and standards framework and relevant regulatory and professional accreditation requirements. Core responsibilities include:

  • ensuring University's relevant education policies and procedures are aligned with regulatory and professional accreditation requirements; 
  • periodic monitoring of key quality and standard indicators in education;  
  • maintaining the continued relevance of the University's admission standards as articulated in policy;
  • undertaking periodic reviews of the University's undergraduate and postgraduate courses; and overseeing the effectiveness and continued relevance of the University's quality and compliance management framework for academic standards.   

It fulfils its role through liaison with related standing committees of the Education Committee and by way of reporting to the Academic Board/Academic Council via the Education Committee. The AQSC's diverse membership is drawn from a wide cross section of the community at UWA.  



Role and responsibilities

The role of the Committee is established by its Constitution.

Meeting dates

All meetings commence at 10am and last approximately two hours.

Cut off-date for agenda items is two weeks before the meeting.

Thursday, 20 February (10am -12pm) Thursday, 6 FebruarySenate Room
Thursday 9 April (10am -12pm) Thursday, 26 MarchVia Zoom Video Conference
Thursday 4 June (10am -12pm) Thursday, 21 MayVia Zoom Video Conference
Thursday, 23 July (10am -12pm) Thursday, 9 JulyVia Zoom Video Conference
Thursday 17 September (10am -12pm) Thursday 3 SeptemberSenate Room
Thursday, 12 November(10am -12pm) Thursday 29 OctoberSenate Room


Executive Dean of Faculty Nominees:

UWA Staff elected by Academic Board :

Other members:


Back to top